Balkrishna Doshi becomes the first Indian architect to get the Pritzker Prize

Spread the love
Balkrishna Doshi
Balkrishna Doshi

Architecture is what has played the greatest role in any country’s development and this is not only we who is saying this but it the perspective of all living on this globe. All the great ideas and inventions or technologies are curated primarily because of the construction of that one building where all the brainstorming sessions of ideas are done.
As actors or directors are awarded for their finest performances, even architects are paid that honor. YES! It’s the Pritzker Architecture Prize.

The Pritzker Architecture Prize is awarded annually to honor a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision and commitment. Carme Pigem, Wang Shu, Frei Otto are few architects who were honored with prize for their great commitment towards their most highly-satisfying architecture.

This year’s Pritzker jury has selected Indian architect Balkrishna Doshi, often known as B.V. Doshi or Doshi, as the 2018 Pritzker Prize Laureate. Doshi has been a practitioner of architecture for over 70 years. Previously, he had studied and worked with both Le Corbusier and Louis Kahn. Doshi is the first Indian architect to receive architecture’s highest honor.

Balkrishna Doshi
Balkrishna Doshi

Balkrishna Doshi was born in the year 1927 and began his studies in architecture in the year of his country’s independence, 1947. After a period in London, he moved to France to work under Le Corbusier, and from there he returned to India in order to oversee work on Le Corbusier’s plans for Chandigarh, and on Le Corbusier’s projects in Ahmedabad such as the Mill Owner’s Association Building (1954) and Shodhan House (1956). Doshi also later worked with Louis Kahn on the Indian Institute of Management in Ahmedabad, beginning in 1962.

Also Read: (The moon could get its own 4G network starting next year)

In 1978, Doshi founded the Vastushilpa Foundation for Studies and Research in Environmental Design to develop planning and design approaches suited to the Indian cultural context; today, the foundation serves as a crucial link between the academy and the architectural profession. He not only completed several projects which could help in the development of the country but also indulged into number of low-cost housing developments.

He took an oath in the 1950’s which led to the Aranya Low Cost Housing development in Indore. Completed in 1989, this network of houses, courtyards and internal pathways provides housing for over 80,000 people ranging from low- to middle-income families, and won Doshi the 1993-1995 Aga Khan Award for Architecture.

The line up for the 2018 Pritzker Prize Jury are:

  1. Glenn Murcutt (Chair): Architect and Pritzker Laureate 2002. Sydney, Australia.
  2. Stephen Breyer: U.S. Supreme Court Justice. Washington, DC.
  3. André Aranha Corrêa do Lago: Current Brazilian Ambassador to Japan.
  4. Lord Peter Palumbo: Architectural patron, Chairman Emeritus of the Trustees, Serpentine Galleries; Former Chairman of the Arts Council of Great Britain. London, England.
  5. Richard Rogers: Architect and Pritzker Laureate 2007. London, England.
  6. Benedetta Tagliabue: Architect and Educator. Barcelona, Spain.
  7. Ratan N. Tata: Chairman Emeritus of Tata Sons, the holding company of the Tata Group. Mumbai, India.
  8. Kazuyo Sejima: Architect and Pritzker Laureate 2010. Japan.
  9. Wang Shu: Architect and Pritzker Laureate 2012. The People’s Republic of China.
  10. Martha Thorne (Executive Director): Dean, IE School of Architecture & Design. Madrid, Spain.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *